Did you know that there are 2 states and 3 territories that are part of the United States that do not participate or observe daylight savings time?  Arizona and Hawaii never spring ahead or fall behind.  Neither does the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and American Samoa join in the dance with time.   Those "extreme hot weather" states evidently don't need another hour of daylight!  Indiana never used to be a team player with daylight savings time (except for the extreme western counties by Chicago) until their last governor got it passed through state legislation in 2005.  It happens every year at 2:00 a.m. the second Sunday in March where we shove the clock forward an hour and then push it back at 2:00 a.m. the first Sunday in November.  I cannot figure out why necessarily those dates nor why "commerce" still needs an extra hour of light certain times of the year to promote trade and do business.  We now have fax machines, cell phones, computers, and CARS!  Daylight savings time is observed elsewhere in the world but with varying date schedules.   Mexico, Canada and the members of the Eastern European Union also utilize daylight savings time.  China and Japan do not!  Most nations near the equator stay on constant standard time.  I guess it pays to live where you are packed with 1.3 billion people, or have warm weather - one or the other!  Roughly 70 countries and one-billion people live with the rotational changing of daylight savings time.  Interestingly enough, Iraq, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Yemen and Egypt are a few of the Middle Eastern countries that rule confidently and arrogantly over everything -including the changing of time too.  They do NOT adhere to DST.  Israel though does.  It was light here in the Midwest section of the U.S. until just after 7 p.m. last night.  On Sunday, March 11th, 2012 it will now stay light until just after 8 p.m.  Summa, Summa, Summatime is near!

No comments:

Post a Comment